God’s 3 Announcing Angels

In between the Trumpet Judgments and the Bowl Judgments there is an interlude in the book of Revelation. In this interlude is a series of visions that give much greater detail to significant parts of the story that will unfold. While the book of Revelation is largely chronological, many of the “detail popouts” are overlapping.

We are given no reason to believe other than that the sequence of the announcing angels is as presented. However, whether they follow one shortly after another or are separated in time we are not told.  It seems quite likely that they “follow” each other in short order as mentioned.  Based on their messages, it seems they are given their assignments near the very end of the Day of the Lord / 70th Week of Daniel / Antichrist’s rule.  Mystery Babylon entices all the world to worship the beast and he does not turn on her until the end of his reign.  It seems that Mystery Babylon’s destruction occurs as part of the 7th trumpet / 7 bowl judgments based on the detailed description given in Revelation chapters 16-18.  That is our best clue as to the time placement of the Announcing Angels.

The first angel is described as flying “directly overhead”, which suggests up in the middle of the sky for maximum visibility.  The entire earth, every nation and tribe and language and people, is reached with the angel’s message.  This is assumed to be true for the two subsequent angels’ messages as well.  Here are their announcements:

Angel 1:  Eternal Gospel

Then I saw another angel flying directly overhead, with an eternal gospel to proclaim to those who dwell on earth, to every nation and tribe and language and people.  And he said with a loud voice, “Fear God and give him glory, because the hour of his judgment has come, and worship him who made heaven and earth, the sea and the springs of water.” (Rev 14:6-7)

This angel is proclaiming the gospel message to the entire earth to fulfill Jesus’ words in Matthew 24:14, “And this gospel of the kingdom will be proclaimed throughout the whole world as a testimony to all nations, and then the end will come.”  While the earth has been undergoing God’s wrath for some time now, this angel is announcing the final concluding outpouring of judgment, which will come via the 7 Bowls.  This is the final call for salvation before fate is sealed.  For this reason, I postulate that this angel flies on the last Feast of Trumpets in a type of dual fulfillment of this feast.  This first angel’s announcement would then be at the start the “10 Days of Awe”.   Whenever it is, it is certain that this is the final, supernatural call to Repent!  For the Kingdom of Heaven is Here!

Angel 2: Judgment Upon Mystery Babylon

Another angel, a second, followed, saying, “Fallen, fallen is Babylon the great, she who made all nations drink the wine of the passion of her sexual immorality.” (Rev 14:8)

The second angel announces the imminent destruction of Mystery Babylon, which I have detailed elsewhere that I believe is the end-times city of Jerusalem.  The Beast and his 10-king confederacy turn on Mystery Babylon at the end of his reign and destroy her.  This comes much to her surprise, as she has been drunk in worship of him all this time.  This also will come to the surprise of the nations who have become intoxicated in worship of the beast through Mystery Babylon.  Her destruction is certain and will come to pass in short order (perhaps that day or the next?).

Angel 3: Eternal Damnation to Those Who Receive the Mark of the Beast

And another angel, a third, followed them, saying with a loud voice, “If anyone worships the beast and its image and receives a mark on his forehead or on his hand,  he also will drink the wine of God’s wrath, poured full strength into the cup of his anger, and he will be tormented with fire and sulfur in the presence of the holy angels and in the presence of the Lamb.  And the smoke of their torment goes up forever and ever, and they have no rest, day or night, these worshipers of the beast and its image, and whoever receives the mark of its name.” (Rev 14:9-11)

This angel gives a final warning not to worship the beast or receive his mark.  To everyone who does, God’s wrath will be poured out full strength upon them.  This wrath will come not only in the form of the 7 Bowls of Judgment, but also throughout eternity.  To take the mark of the beast and to worship him seals one’s eternal fate, and destines one for the Lake of Fire.

Main Menu – God’s Mosaic Prophecy Model

 The Bible is infallible.  I am not.  Be a Berean – examine the scriptures for yourself to see if these things are so!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s